BJN Awards Winners 2023

Cardiovascular Nurse of the Year

Winner: Ghazala Yasin, Nurse Consultant, Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Silver - Alison Pottle, Consultant Nurse in Cardiology, Harefield Hospital

Bronze - Sue Armstrong, Advanced Clinical Practitioner in Arrhythmia and Devices, Glenfield Hospital

Chronic Oedema Nurse of the Year

Winner: Margaret Anne Garner, Lymphoedema Specialist, Strathcarron Hospice - NHS Forth Valley

Sponsored by:

Silver - Joanne Dodd-Stokes and Lymphcare UK team, Lymphcare UK

Bronze - Rachel Mayall, Heywood, Middleton and Rochdale Lymphoedema Service, Rochdale Care Organisation

Continence Nurse of the Year

Winner: The RIISE Project

Silver - Newcastle Specialist Continence Service

Bronze - Arlene Dillon, Community Bladder and Bowel Nurse Specialist, Strathbrock Health Centre

Diabetes Nurse of Year

Winner: Nuru Clark, Diabetes Specialist Nurse, Barts Health NHS Trust

Sponsored by:

Silver - Erwin Castro, Nurse consultant, East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust

Bronze (joint) -  Maggie Shepherd, Lead Nurse for Research, and Honorary Clinical Professor of Monogenic Diabetes.

Bronze (joint)  - Monika Sciog, Diabetes Specialist Nurse Educator, Walton hospital

Gastrointestinal / IBD Nurse of the Year

Winner: Alcohol and Drug Liaison Service Royal Free Hospital

Silver - Elizabeth Burge and Rebecca Robbins, Senior Hepatology Specialist Nurses, Southampton General Hospital and Drug Services

Bronze - Shellie Radford, IBD Nurse Lead, Nottingham University Hospital

Infection Prevention Nurse of the Year

Winner: Eugenia Moyo and Beth Crossland, Clinical Nurse Specialist, Central and Northwest London NHS Foundation Trust

Silver - Catherine Wagland, Infection Control Matron, Moorfields Eye Hospital

Bronze - Pasqua Fitzgibbon & Amy Griffiths, IPC Harm Free Care Nurse Specialists, Newcastle upon Tyne NHS Foundation Trust

Innovation Award

Winner: Affinity Care Young Person Contact Team

Silver - Junior Carers, Royal Berkshire NHS Foundation Trust Patient Experience Team

Bronze - Social Prescribing - Health in Justice, West Midlands Prisons

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Dr Gail Adams OBE Head of Professional Services UNISON

Mental Health Nurse of the Year

Winner: Recovery Riders - Nursing Team Male PICU Lancashire and South Cumbria NHS Foundation Trust

Silver - Jodie Kirby-Owens, Lead Nurse For Mental Health, Walsall Healthcare Trust working in collaboration with The Royal Wolverhampton NHS Trust

Bronze - Bespoke/Specialist Placement CLDT Southern Health and Social Care Trust

Nurse of the Year

Winner: Zarah Perry-Woodford, Consultant Nurse, St Mark’s Hospital

Sponsored by:

Silver - Jackie Munro, Chief Nurse and Deputy CEO, Solent NHS Trust     

Bronze - Kerry Messam, Deputy Lead Nurse for Specialist Palliative and End of Life Care, Northampton General Hospital